The American Society for Competitiveness is a national association of academics, business executives, and public policy makers who share a commitment to improving
competitiveness at the individual, firm, industry, country, region and global levels.

The Society was established in 1989 to provide a forum for the interdisciplinary and cross-sector communication needed to address competitiveness.  The society
fosters the exchange of information and ideas among individuals who bring different perspectives and expertise to the issue.  The society sponsors
a national conference annually, publishes four journals and offers several national awards annually.

A sample of business, academic and government leaders that participated in past ASC conferences:

  • Elain L. Chao, US Secretary of Labor
  • Michael Porter, Harvard University
  • Alex Trotman, CEO, Ford Motor Co.
  • Robert Galvin, Chair & CEO, Motorola
  • Herb Kelleher, CEO, Southwest Airlines
  • Philip Crosby, Philip Crosby Associates
  • C.K. Prahalad, University of Michigan
  • Andrew Young, former US Ambassador to the UN
  • Timothy Muris, Chairman, U.S. Federal Trade Commission