About Us

The American Society for Competitiveness is a national association of academics, business executives, and policy makers who share a commitment to improving competitiveness at individual, firm, industry, country, region and global levels. The society was established in 1989 to provide a forum for the interdisciplinary and cross-sector communication needed to address competitiveness, the Society fosters the exchange of information and ideas among individuals who bring differing perspectives and expertise to the issue. The Society sponsors a national conference annually, publishes four journals, and offers several national awards annually.

A sample of business, academic, and government leaders that participated in past ASC Conferences:

  • Elaine L. Chao – U.S.Secretary of Labor
  • Michael Porter – Harvard University
  • Alex Trotman – CEO, Ford Motor Co.
  • Robert Galvin – Chairman & CEO, Motorola
  • Herb Kelleher – CEO, Southwest Airlines
  • Philip Crosby – Philip Crosby Associates II
  • Andrew Young – former U.S. Ambassador to the UN
  • Timothy Muris – Chairman, U.S. Federal Trade Commission